Burrawang wins Margaret Whatman Cup

It’s the grudge match of the year- The Holy Grail of Southern Highlands Hockey. The mighty Margaret Whatman Memorial Cup!

Burrawang Hockey Club vs Robertson. The history books show Burrawang won without even trying for the first three years. Robertson was allowed to win and be 'Keepers of the Cup' for the last four years.

The Bunyips had comfortably won the two earlier 'non cup matches’ this year and Margaret could no longer put off the inevitable showdown. She decreed the Cup was up for grabs last Saturday and the battle lines were drawn.

First job - Robertson had to find the Cup. Hidden in the their club’s trophy cabinet, alone, dusty and under lock and key it’s the trophy worth dying for. Burrawang and Robertson both qualified for the Cup decider after dispatching Mittagong and Bowral. Moss Vale tried valiantly to compete but were rubbed out by the Bunyips.

Robertson and Burrawang came prepared with Burrawang bringing out the big import and signing of the year in Micheali Pugh. Micheali is of West Papuan stock and is a wizard with a hockey stick. Robertson also went very multicultural with the re-introduction of New Zealander Robyn Scully.

Both teams started strong but with three early goals to Bunyips star striker Phil Lavers, the half time pep talk for Robertson was of no use. The second half was worse for Robertson with an own goal by Jacob Rofe.

Three more goals to the Bunyips engaged the mercy rule at 7 -0 and the cup was awarded to Burrawang captain Paul Sabatier.

- Pat Cleary and Colin Munro (Burrawang loyals)


Discuss "Burrawang takes home coveted Cup"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.